Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

Twitter

国际刑事司法中的权力:迈向国际正义的社会学

佛罗伦萨,2017年10月28日至29日

 

国际刑事司法越来越受到批评。这种趋势不仅是对国际刑事司法行为者的表现所作出的反应。它也体现了在二十年广泛的国际实践之后这一学科得到了充分的发展。这一领域现在已经足够成熟相关机构已经有足够的时间逐渐适应自己的授权和角色——这促使学者们建立了适用于国际刑事司法的社会学分支学科,以分析有关机构和其他行为者的行为。

法律社会学对我们理解执法、法律制定过程、以及法律、正义和权力在若干国内法律制度中的关系,作出了不可或缺的贡献。这种知识生成可以增加对法律体系的作用的接受程度,揭示其弱点,并推动其改进。一个负责任的话语体系要求更高的透明度,从而可以在国际刑事管辖的范围内促进更高的诚信标准,提高招聘质量,增强制度的正当性。它还可能对继续考虑其立场的《国际刑事法院规约》非缔约国产生重要意义。

国际刑事司法中的权力:迈向国际正义的社会学这一研究项目重点关注国际刑事司法在权力与自主之间的关系。权力发挥作用,是因为主权国家是使国际刑事管辖成为可能的利益攸关方,而个人占据相关机构的领导地位。但国际刑事司法如果没有足够的自主权,就不可能独立、公正和公平。该项目通过确定权力安排、权利的分配和复制、其他权力关系、行为者能力和使用权力的意图、以及对权利可能的滥用,来分析国际刑事司法机构的设计和行为,及其运行轨道上的关键行为者。该项目探讨了(但不限于)以下问题:

1.国际刑事司法机构以外的行为者的主要利益是什么?这些利益如何得以实现?这些利益在多大程度上涉及核心国际罪行(危害和平罪,战争罪,灭绝种族罪,危害人类罪和其他严重违反国际人道主义法的罪行)的有罪不罚现象?我们如何区分现实主义的自身利益和国际机构在应对有罪不罚现象的努力中所取得的规范性进展?这些利益是否发生了变化,如果发生变化,是什么推动了这种变化?

2.国际刑事司法机关内部的行为者在多大程度上反映、推动或阻碍了有罪不罚现象的努力,为什么?

3.核心社会网络在国际刑事司法中的作用是什么?特别是国际刑事管辖中关键人物的网络以及建立这些网络的谈判,特别是自20世纪90年代中期以来幸存下来的网络,其作用如何?核心网络在国际刑事诉讼中行使的权力有多透明?

4.国际刑事司法中普通法系与大陆法系之间的紧张关系已得到很多讨论,特别是在责任方式和程序的法律要求方面。这种紧张关系是真实的还是作为代理冲突或屏障来掩盖权力关系和竞争的呢?普通法与大陆法之间的分歧是否仅仅作为政府或社会网络通过与一小群志同道合的行为者(而不是例如西欧与其他国家群体)合作来追求利益呢?这种分歧如何影响非洲联盟和欧洲联盟在国际刑事司法方面的权力?

5.公平地域代表性的要求是否在国际刑事管辖范围内得到真实的提升?它们如何影响主要是普通法系和大陆法系国家之间在人员方面的平衡?在国际刑事管辖范围内,是否可以通过在基本人员构成统计数据之上增加多层信息来创造更精确的权力结构,其中包括谁拥有实际的管理职位,谁被分配到哪些部门、处理哪些案件、如何分配,以及谁在上诉机构主张政策问题,谁来盘问主要证人,谁参加高级管理决策过程?在人员选择方面,国际刑事司法机构的院长和检察官树立了怎样的榜样?

6.法庭设计的社会学:例如,在《国际刑事法院规约》的谈判中,普通法系与大陆法系国家之间似乎在几个问题上存在分歧。寻求拉丁美洲、中东和北非、以及非洲国家集团的支持变得非常重要。为此,这些集团中的主要外交官发挥什么作用,以及他们与国家或国家集团之间的关系如何?如何以及由谁提供和利用这些角色?这些行为者继而如何运用这种影响力?哪些国家在通过参与和促进与特定行为人的谈判来实现其利益方面最为有效,以及这些特定行为人是哪些国家的国民?这些行为人是否被工具化?

7.非政府组织在国际刑事管辖范围内是否独立于捐助国和关键人物?他们是否在国际刑事管辖范围内根据涉嫌滥用权力和不当行为的有关信息而采取行动,他们采取行动的意愿如何影响他们继续获得信息?

8.是否存在这样的例子——被告或其他行为者运用权力,通过各种形式的有意或潜意识的压力或诱因,成功地影响了主要的国际刑事司法人员(包括法官和检察官)?有没有迹象表明,例如,在前南国际刑事法庭的有关案件中,被告Ante Gotovina和Vojislav Šešelj行使了这种权力,并导致了偏见?

9.有关东道国和国际刑事管辖的问题:这种关系的性质是什么?对东道国国民作为体制内的人员而言有什么偏好(如果有的话)呢?这些人员有怎样的职业历史,以及在聘用当地国民过程中,特别是在聘用高级职位时,透明度达到何种程度?在东道国行为者之间(包括政府,个人和学术机构)的合作中,是否存在牺牲其他合法利益来增强或减轻东道国权力的例子? 

10.法官和国家行为者在国际刑事司法机构中有什么关系,这如何影响公正?由于据称缺乏公正,Frederik Harhoff法官被迫离开前南国际刑事法庭,这已经受到相当大的关注。关于权力关系,这些例子告诉了我们什么?是否有国际刑事司法的法官以法官的身份与政府保持密切关系,以至于他们被认为无法通过公正的考验?

11.国际刑事司法中对案件分配或与法官有关的其他利益的权力行使将如何影响独立和公正?有即将离任的总统行使权力来影响从母国(或国籍国)提名继任法官吗?

12.国际检察官的选拔程序是什么?各法庭的选拔程序有何不同?谁提议特定候选人,民间社会团体如何扮演什么样的角色?例如,谁提名了国际刑事法院的第一位检察官,谁推动了他的竞选,这些个人或团体发生了什么?国际刑事法院联盟和国际刑事法院缔约国大会主席的作用是什么?

13.在建立国际检察机关的过程中,有关权力和自主权的主要问题是什么?例如,考虑到国际刑事法院检察官办公室,为什么第一任国际刑事法院检察官不通过检察官办公室的条例草案或行为守则草案?谁控制了办公室早期的招聘?某些部门是否缺乏公平的代表性?为什么在没有得到办公室第一笔预算的批准时仍设立了管辖权、补充性与合作部门?有关利益冲突和分权的考虑是否适用于主要人员从检察机关转移到法院的其他部门?

14.哪些个人行为者从核心国际犯罪管辖中获益最多?我们可以看到在物质、社会、外交、专业和学术方面获益的模式吗?

该研究项目委员会由Morten Bergsmo教授, Mark Klamberg副教授,Kjersti Lohne博士,Christopher Mahony博士,Klaus Rackwitz先生,Usha Tandon教授和易平副教授组成。该研究项目由国际法研究与政策中心、德里大学校园法律中心、纽伦堡原则国际研究院、奥斯陆大学犯罪学与法律社会学系、北京大学国际法研究所和斯德哥尔摩国际法律与正义中心共同举办。

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

Twitter

International criminal justice has been subjected to growing criticism. This trend is not only a reaction to the performance of international criminal justice actors. It also reflects a sense that the discipline has come of age after two decades of comprehensive international practice. The field is now sufficiently mature – the institutions have had adequate time to grow into their mandates and roles – for scholars to forge a proper sub-discipline of sociology of international criminal justice where the behaviour of relevant institutions and other actors is analysed.

Sociology of law has made indispensable contributions to our understanding of the administration of justice, law-making processes, and the relationship between law, justice and power in several domestic legal systems. Such knowledge-generation can increase acceptance of a legal system’s role, expose its weaknesses, and drive improvement. A responsible discourse invites greater transparency that can, in turn, foster higher standards of integrity in international criminal jurisdictions, enhance quality in their recruitment, and increase institutional legitimacy. It may also generate information of significance for non-States Parties continuing to consider their position outside the Statute of the International Criminal Court.

The research project ‘Power in International Criminal Justice: Towards a Sociology of International Justice’ focuses on the relationship between power and autonomy in international criminal justice. Power plays a role because sovereign States and non-governmental organisations are the main enabling stakeholders of international criminal jurisdictions, and because human beings fill the institutions’ leading positions. The justice dispensed by the jurisdictions cannot be independent, impartial and otherwise fair without sufficient autonomy. The project analyses the design and behaviour of institutions of international criminal justice and key actors in their orbit, by that identifying patterns in the arrangement of power, its distribution and reproduction, other relationships of power, actors’ capacity and intent to use their power, and possible abuse of power. The project explores inquiries such as, but not limited to, the following:

  1. What are the key interests of States and civil society actors with regard to international criminal jurisdictions? How are these interests advanced? To what extent do these interests concern impunity for core international crimes (crimes against the peace, war crimes, genocide, crimes against humanity and other serious violations of international humanitarian law)? How do we distinguish between realist self-interest and normative advance in international institutions’ efforts to confront impunity? Are these interests changing and if so, what is driving this change?

  2. To what extent do actors internal to international criminal jurisdictions reflect, advance or impede efforts to confront impunity, and why?

  3. What has been the role of core social networks in international criminal justice, in particular networks of key individuals in international criminal jurisdictions and the negotiations to establish them, especially networks that have survived since the mid-1990s? How transparent is the power exercised by core networks in international criminal justice?

  4. The tension between Common Law and Civil Law approaches in international criminal justice has been much discussed, particularly in the context of legal requirements of modes of liability and procedure. Is this tension real or has it been used as a proxy conflict or shield to conceal power relations and competition? Is the Common Law v. Civil Law divide simply a way for governments or networks to pursue their interests by working with a smaller group of like-minded actors (rather than, for example, the entire WEOG group of States)? How has this divide affected the power of the African Union and European Union in international criminal justice?

  5. Have the requirements of equitable geographical representation been authentically advanced in international criminal jurisdictions? How have they affected the balance between persons from mainly Common Law and Civil Law countries? Can more precise topographies of power within international criminal jurisdictions be created by adding layers of information on top of basic staff composition statistics concerning, inter alia, who holds actual management positions, who is assigned to which sections and cases and how, who argues policy questions before appellate bodies, who examines key witnesses, and who attends senior management decision-making processes? What examples have the presidents and prosecutors of jurisdictions set in terms of personnel selection?

  6. The sociology of tribunal design: For example, there seemed to be disagreement on several issues during the negotiation of the Statute of the International Criminal Court (‘ICC’) between Common Law and Civil Law countries. It became important to harness support in the Latin-American, MENA and African groups of States. To this end, what role did key diplomats in these groups play, and what were their relationships to States or groups of States? How were these roles provided and employed, and by whom? How did these actors subsequently use this clout? Which States were most effective in advancing their interests via engagement with, and promotion of, specific actors in negotiations, and, of which States were such actors’ nationals? Was there instrumentalisation of such actors?

  7. Have the non-governmental organizations been independent vis-à-vis donor States and key individuals within international criminal jurisdictions? Have they acted on obtained information about alleged abuse of power and misconduct within international criminal jurisdictions, and how has their willingness to act informed their continued access to information?

  8. Are there examples of defendants or other actors who have wielded such power that they successfully influenced key international criminal jurisdiction personnel (including judges and prosecutors) through various forms of conscious or sub-conscious pressure or inducement? Is there any indication that, for example, defendants Ante Gotovina or Vojislav Šešelj exercised such power, and solicited bias, in cases against them at the ICTY?

  9. Questions concerning host countries and international criminal jurisdictions: What is the nature of this relationship? What preference, if any, is observed for nationals of host countries as personnel within institutions? What career histories are observed amongst these personnel and what level of transparency is observed in processes where local nationals are hired, particularly where hiring is specific to senior positions? Are there examples of co-operation between host country actors (including the government, individuals, and academic institutions) that enhance or mitigate host country power at the expense of other legitimate interests?

  10. What relations have judges and state actors had at international criminal justice institutions, and how does this affect impartiality? The compelled departure from the ICTY of Judge Frederik Harhoff, due to an alleged lack of perceived impartiality, has received considerable attention. What, if anything, do such cases tell us about power relations? Are there judges of international criminal jurisdictions who enjoy or have had such close relations with governments in their capacity as judges that they would not pass the test of perceived impartiality?

  11. How does the power exercised in international criminal jurisdictions over case assignment or other interests relating to judges affect independence and impartiality? Have outgoing presidents exercised power to influence the nomination of a successor judge from their home state (or state of nationality)?

  12. What is the selection process for international prosecutors and how has it changed from tribunal to tribunal? Who promotes the idea of particular candidates, how, and what tends to be the role of civil society groups? For example, who proposed the first ICC Prosecutor, who drove his campaign forward, and what happened to these individuals or groups? What was the role of the Coalition for the International Criminal Court and the President of the ICC Assembly of States Parties?

  13. What are the main questions of power and autonomy in the processes to establish international prosecution offices? For example, considering the ICC Office of the Prosecutor, why did the first ICC Prosecutor not adopt the draft Regulations or Code of Conduct of the Office of the Prosecutor? Who controlled the early recruitment practice of the Office? Was there a lack of equitable representation in some divisions? Why was the Jurisdiction, Complementarity and Co-operation Division created when this entity had not been approved by the Office’s first budget? Were applicable considerations of conflict of interest and separation of powers given normal effect in transfers of key personnel from the prosecution to other Court entities?

  14. Which individual actors have profited the most from core international crimes jurisdictions? Can we see patterns in who has gained in material, social, diplomatic, professional and academic terms?

The research Project Committee is composed of Professor Morten Bergsmo, Professor David Cohen, Associate Professor Mark Klamberg, Dr. Kjersti Lohne, Dr. Christopher Mahony, Mr. Klaus Rackwitz, Professor Usha Tandon, and Associate Professor YI Ping. The project is co-organized by CILRAP, Delhi University Campus Law Centre, the International Nuremberg Principles Academy, the Department of Criminology and Sociology of Law of the University of Oslo, Peking University International Law Institute, the HANDA Center for Human Rights and International Justice of Stanford University, and the Stockholm Centre for International Law and Justice of Stockholm University.

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast