Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

Twitter

الكفارة والرغبة في المصالحة

فيلي برانت يجثو على ركبتيه في وارسو بصفته المستشار الألماني في عام 1970.
أدى ذلك إلى بزوغ مفهوم "سياسة المصالحة".
اسكتش لمنحوتة تجريدية بعنوان "الكفارة"، بريشة الفنان جايسون آركلس بالتعاون مع مورتن بيرغسمو
رسم بالقلم الرصاص عن "الكفارة"، للفنان آدم ج.ت. روبارتس.
لوحة تجسد الفكرة نفسها على الماء، بريشة الفنان آدم ج. ت. روبارتس.
لوحة المحيط الأخضر التي تجسد محادثات السلام المتعلقة بهافانا، بريشة الفنان آدم ج. ت. روبارتس.
اسكتش لمنحوتة بوليكاربالا سالافاريتا، بريشة الفنان جايسون آركلس.

منذ أيار/مايو 2015، تُعقد سلسلة من الندوات التي يشارك فيها عدد غير محدد من المتحدثين عن «المصالحة» ضمن سلسلة موجز السياسة الصادرة عن دار توركل أوبسال الأكاديمية للنشر الإلكتروني (TOAEP). وقد نُشر أكثر من عشرة موجزات عن مختلف جوانب الموضوع. ويوجد قائمة بالروابط التشعبية أدنى هذه الصفحة.

وتوحي تلك المنشورات بأن صور التعبير عن الأسف إزاء معاناة ضحايا الجرائم الوحشية الجماعية قد تُحد من المطالبة بالثأر؛ مما يزيد من فرص تحقيق «المصالحة». ويمكن أن تتخذ تلك التعبيرات أشكالاً عديدة بدءا بالاعتراف بارتكاب الجرائم في الإجراءات الجنائية وانتهاء بالتعبيرات الفنية. ولا تمثل التعبيرات الأخيرة بالضرورة تجريما ذاتيا أو إقرار بالمسؤولية في حد ذاتها. إذ تنطوي على الاعتراف بحقيقة معاناة الضحايا (ومنهم أفراد أسرهم) والشعور بالأسف إزاء تلك المعاناة. وقد تؤثر هذه التعبيرات على سلوك الضحايا وتوقعاتهم حيال السلام والعدالة، بل تسهم في تحقيق «المصالحة» وبناء وحدة المجتمع.

جثا فيلي برانت على ركبتيه في ما كان يعرف بـ «غيتو وارسو» في 7 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1970، كما يظهر في الصورة أعلى اليمين. وقد أضحى هذا الفعل المتمثل في الجثو على الركبتين تعبيرا بليغا عن الندم أو «تكفير الذنب» أو «الكفارة» من خلال اختيار لغة الجسد. وأسهم ذلك في تحقيق «المصالحة» بين ألمانيا وبولندا بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية، وكذلك في استحداث ما غدا معروفا باسم «سياسة المصالحة» Politik der Versöhnung (انظر الصورة الثانية على اليمين). وقد سعى برانت، من خلال الانحناء والجثو،  إلى تحقيق أكبر قدر من الوحدة بين الأمتين: الألمانية والبولندية؛ فقد يؤدي وضوح المفاهيم إلى تحفيز روح الإبداع الفني.

إن رغبة فيلي برانت في "المصالحة" تستدعي إلى الأذهان الكفارة بوصفها مفهوما وبحسبانها خصلة شخصية. ومن المثير للانتباه أن «الكفارة» ومقابلها باللغة الإنكليزية atonement تعني «التوحيد»؛ إذ يتجول العقل بداية من الأصل اللاتيني "ad-una-mentum" الذي يعني (الوحدة) مرورا بالعبارة  الإنكليزية "to-one-make" وانتهاء تعبير "to one something" أي جعل شيئا ما كيانا واحدا. وتحمل «الكفارة» فكرتين منفصلتين، هما: أ) التعبير عن الندم، ب) إعادة توحيد شيئا ما أو الجمع بين مختلِفَين. ويركز المفهوم على الضحايا ومعاناتهم، وهذا هو لب الندم، وهو الأساس الذي ينبغي بناء المصالحة عليه. ومن منظور شخصي، ينطوي شعور أي شخص بالندم على نوع من التقمص الوجداني والحس الأخلاقي. أما جوهر فكرة المصالحة، فيفترض وجود وعي اجتماعي لدى الشخص بأهمية الوحدة، والعزم على المساهمة في تحقيقها.

لقد أثَّرت فكرتي «المصالحة» و«الكفارة» على العديد من الأطراف الفاعلة في مجال العدالة الانتقالية؛ إذ لم تقتصر على العدالة الجنائية إزاء الجرائم الدولية الأساسية. وقد تعمق مورتين بيرغسمو، مدير مركز بحوث ودراسات القانون الدولي بصفته مستشار عملية السلام بين الحكومة الكولومبية والقوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية في استكشاف مفهوم "المصالحة" طالبا  المشورة من مهندسين معماريين وفنانين بشأن كيفية التعبير عن المفهوم وتراث فيلي برانت بطريقة فنية تحمل معاني عميقة. وشجَّع الطرفين  على استخدام الفن في عملية «المصالحة» واتخذ العديد من الخطوات لتمكين الأطراف الفاعلة المعنية من ذلك.

وأشرك بيرغسمو مهندسا معماريا هو آدم ج. ت. روبارتس (وهو كندي الجنسية وقد عمل في مختلف أرجاء الصين منذ تسعينيات القرن العشرين) والنحَّات جايسون آركلس (وهو أمريكي الجنسية ويقيم في فلورنسا منذ تسعينيات القرن العشرين) للتوصل إلى  بعض الأفكار عن طرق التعبير عن «المصالحة» و«الكفارة» من خلال النحت؛ مستلهما هيئة فيلي براندت وهو جاث  على قدميه في صورته التي التقطت في عام 1970. وعلى الرغم من أنها مجرد اسكتشات، فإننا أدرجنا بعض الصور في العمود الأيمن في هذه الصفحة. وكما ترى، شملت الأفكار كلتا المنحوتتين التجريديتين (اللتان تصوران مشهد الانحناء والتوحد مع الذات) والنحت الرمزي (الذي يستلهم التاريخ الكولومبي، حيث يصور بوليكاربالا سالافاريتا وهي تحرر نفسها من قيود الطمع والصراع والخوف). وقد قٌدمت هذه الأفكار إلى قيادة القوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية في مجمع هافانا الأخضر حيث عُقدت مفاوضات السلام الكولومبية.

وقد عُرِضت هنا أملاً في تشجيع الآخرين على تقديم أعمال فنية في إطار عمليات السلام أو عمليات «المصالحة» الحالية أو المستقبلية. ويجد مفهوما «المصالحة» و«الكفارة» متسعا لهما في خضم النقاشات الدائرة بين القانون والفلسفة والفن والدبلوماسية، والإجراءات التي تتخذ مستندةً إلى مجال من هذه المجالات. ويدرك أحيانا بعض الساسة والدبلوماسيين المنخرطين في عمليات السلام  و«المصالحة» الحقيقية كيف يمكن «للتعبير الفني» عن «الكفارة» أو «المصالحة» أن يخاطب خيال العامة. وقد يوطد ذلك أهمية الاتفاقات الرسمية، بل ويزيد من أثرها في بعض الأحيان. بيد أن تقديم أعمال ذات تعبيرات فنية لا يعتمد على المسؤولين المنخرطين  في عمليات السلام و«المصالحة»، بل إن الحقيقة أبعد ما تكون عن ذلك؛ فقد تؤثر أيضا مبادرة من أفراد أو من المجتمع المدني على الرغبة في «المصالحة»؛ مثل مبادرة الفن والعدالة الدولية التي تتولى زمام قيادتها مارينا أكسينوفا.  

ومن ثم، ينبغي إجراء مزيد من الأبحاث والتحليلات حول قدرة التعبير الفني الذي يتناول عمليات السلام و«المصالحة» على تصوير خيال العامة أو تطلعاتهم وتحفيزها. وثمة موضوع آخر يتطلب مزيدا من التأمل وهو السؤال: هل يكفي أن يعترف القانون الدولي بالقيم الأساسية أو المصالح المتعلقة بـ «المصالحة» و«الوحدة».  

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

Twitter

Atonement and the Will to Reconciliation

Willy Brandt kneels in Warsaw as German Chancellor in 1970.
This led to the ‘politics of reconciliation’.
Sketch of ‘atonement’ in abstract sculpture, by Jason Arkles working with Morten Bergsmo.
A lighter sketch of ‘atonement’, by Adam J.T. Robarts.
The same idea on water, by Adam J.T. Robarts.
In the green context of the Havana peace talks, by Adam J.T. Robarts.
Sketch of a sculpture of Polycarpa Salavarrieta, by Jason Arkles.


Since May 2015, there has been an open-ended symposium on 'reconciliation' in the Policy Brief Series of the Torkel Opsahl Academic EPublisher. More than a dozen policy briefs have been published on different aspects of the topic. There is a list with hyperlinks at the bottom of the page.

These publications suggest that expressions of regret for the suffering of victims of mass-atrocity may reduce the demand for revenge, thus increasing the prospects for 'reconciliation'. Such expressions can take many forms, from guilty pleas in criminal proceedings, on the one end of the spectrum, to artistic expressions, on the other. The latter are not necessarily the same as self-incrimination or admission of responsibility. They entail recognition of the fact of suffering of victims (including family members), and regret for that suffering. Such expressions may affect the attitude of victims and their expectations of peace and justice, and even contribute to 'reconciliation' and building social unity.

German Chancellor Willy Brandt kneeled in the former Warsaw Ghetto on 7 December 1970, as seen in the picture on the upper right. This act of kneeling became an important expression of regret or 'atonement' through the choice of body language. It contributed to 'reconciliation' between Germany and Poland after World War II, and to the creation of what became known as the ‘politics of reconciliation’ ('Politik der Versöhnung', see the second picture to the right). By bowing and kneeling, Brandt sought to bring the German and Polish nations a greater measure of unity. 

Conceptual clarity can stimulate artistic exploration. Willy Brandt's will to 'reconciliation' invokes the quality and concept of 'atonement'. Interestingly, ‘atonement’ means ‘to make something into one’: the mind wanders from the Latin ‘ad-una-mentum’ (‘at-one-ment’), through ‘to-one-make’ and ‘to one something’. ‘Atonement’ conveys two separate ideas of a) expressing regret, and b) reuniting or reconciling. The victims and their suffering constitute the object of the concept – that is what the regret is about, and that is where 'reconciliation' needs to be anchored. Subjectively, the regret implies empathy and a moral condition, and the very idea of 'reconciliation' implies a social awareness of and intention to contribute towards unity.

The notions of 'reconciliation' and 'atonement' have influenced several actors in transitional justice, not limited to criminal justice for core international crimes. In his capacity as adviser to the peace process between the Colombian Government and the FARC, CILRAP’s Director Morten Bergsmo explored the concept of 'atonement' further, consulting architects and artists on how the concept and Willy Brandt's legacy could find meaningful artistic expression. He encouraged the parties to use art in the 'reconciliation' process, and he took several steps to empower relevant actors.

Bergsmo involved architect Adam J.T. Robarts (a Canadian who has worked extensively in China since the 1990s) and sculptor Jason Arkles (an American based in Florence since the 1990s) to develop some ideas for how 'reconciliation' and 'atonement' can be expressed in sculpture, drawing on the example of the kneeling figure of Willy Brandt from 1970. Although mere sketches, we include some images in the right column on this page. As you can see, the ideas included both abstract sculpture (capturing the bowing and becoming one) and figurative sculpture (drawing on Colombian history, showing Polycarpa Salavarrieta freeing herself from chains of greed, strife and fear). These ideas were presented to the FARC leadership in the green Havana compound where the Colombian peace negotiations took place.

They are shared here in the hope that others may be encouraged to introduce art in ongoing or future peace or 'reconciliation' processes. The concepts of 'reconciliation' and 'atonement' lend themselves well for dialogue between law, philosophy, art and diplomacy, and for action informed by each domain. Sometimes politicians and diplomats involved in actual peace and 'reconciliation' processes recognise how artistic expression of 'atonement' or 'reconciliation' can speak to public imagination. This can reinforce formal agreements, and in some circumstances even exceed their effect. But the introduction of artistic expression does not depend on the officials engaged in peace and 'reconciliation' processes. Far from it, individual or civil society initiative, such as the Art and International Justice Initiative led by Marina Aksenova, can also affect the will to 'reconciliation'.  

More research and analysis should be undertaken on how artistic expression in peace and 'reconciliation' processes can reflect and stir public imagination or aspiration. Another topic for further reflection is whether the recognition by international law of the fundamental values or interests of 'reconciliation' and 'unity' is adequate.  

The following are among the publications released by the Torkel Opsahl Academic EPublisher on the topic of 'reconciliation': 

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast