Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

CILRAP Circulation List TwitterTwitter

في مسألة ميانمار

تسعى هذه الندوة المقدمة عبر الإنترنت إلى المساهمة في توسيع فهمنا للحالة في ميانمار، ولا سيما في ولاية راخين. وكان مركز بحوث ودراسات القانون الدولي قد نظم ندوة الخبراء الدولية التي حملت عنوان "الأخطاء الاستعمارية والمعايير المزدوجة والاحتكام إلى القانون الدولي" في يانغون يومي 16 و17 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019. ويتوافر مجانا برنامج المؤتمر ومذكرته المفاهيمية وروابط الأفلام والبث الشبكي (البودكاست) التي عُرِضت فيه على صفحة المشروع على شبكة الإنترنت. وقد لقي المشروع استحساناً كبيراً، لكن بعض ردود الفعل على الورقة المفاهيمية أوضحت احتمال الحاجة إلى إجراء مزيد من التحليل الدقيق للحالة في ميانمار.

وفي ضوء هذه النبذة المختصرة، يسر المركز أن يستضيف ندوة عبر الإنترنت تتناول أعمال مجموعة متنوعة من المؤلفين بخصوص مختلف جوانب الحالة في ميانمار، ولا سيما من المنطقة التي تضمها. وجميعها من منشورات دار توركل أوبسال الأكاديمية للنشر الإلكتروني (TOAEP). وستستمر الندوة في التطور خلال الأشهر والسنوات المقبلة. ونحن مهتمون اهتماماً خاصاً بوجهات النظر أو القضايا التي قد تكون ناقصة التمثيل أو يُتغاضى عنها في خطاب العدالة الدولية السائد إزاء قضية ميانمار مع استمرار التطورات التي تشهدها. ويتمثل الهدف في المساهمة في توسيع نطاق الخطاب وتعزيز شمول الجميع لصالح العدالة والحقيقة والسلام أيضاً. والمنشورات التي تناولتها الندوة حتى الآن مدرجة بروابطها أدنى هذه الصفحة. وتعرض الفقرات التالية لمحةً عامةً عن المنشورات الستة عشر الأولى.

وصف البروفيسور ناكانشي يوشيهيرو، الخبير الياباني في القوات المسلحة في ميانمار، الحالة في ولاية راخين في ميانمار إطلاق الندوة في عام 2020، موضحا أن: "القتال في راخين منذ أوائل عام 2019 كان بين جماعة بوذية مسلحة منظمة [جيش أراكان] وقوات الدفاع الميانمارية التي يتألف أغلب أعضاؤها من بوذييين، وأن المسلمين في راخين لم يكونوا طرفاً في هذا القتال" على عكس الأحداث الكارثية المعروفة التي وقعت في الفترة بين عامي 2016 و2017. ويناقش الباحث البنغلاديشي شفقت منير الطاقات الكامنة في راخين التي يمكن أن تستفيد منها بنغلاديش والتعاون الإقليمي، قائلا: "لن يتحدد النمو المستقبلي لكلا البلدين [بنغلاديش وميانمار] من خلال قدرتهما على التنافس بين أحدهما والآخر، بل من خلال قدرتهما على التكامل والتعاون فيما بينهما". ويحذر أنطونيو أنغوتي من خطر "الاستغلال [الأجنبي] للفكرة البنغلاديشة الخالصة والشعور بالتعرُّض للإبادة الجماعية"، الذي يتسم "القبول غير العادي لتصنيف الإبادة الجماعية بين العناصر البنغلاديشية الفاعلة" المتولَّد بفعل حرب التحرير لعام 1971 والسرديات الدستورية اللاحق. 

ويعرض سوبير بهوميك وديفاشيش بايس وسون يون وجهتي نظر هندية وصينية عن الأهمية الجيوسياسية لراخين أو أهميتها من زاوية أوسع. فمن الصعب فهم النزاعات المسلحة والأحداث المأساوية التي وقعت في راخين خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية دون معرفة الحقائق الأساسية التي تناقشها. ومن المثير للاهتمام ما أشارت إليه الخبيرة الميانمارية المتخصصة في البر الصيني، سون يون (كبيرة الزملاء في مركز ستيمون) من أن: "العناصر الفاعلة الغربية التي دعت بعزيمة وتصميم إلى إضفاء الطابع الخارجي على المساءلة عن الجرائم المزعوم ارتكابها ضد الروهينغا في راخين الشمالية قد ساهمت مساهمةً لا يُستهان بها في توطيد أواصر العلاقات القائمة بين الصين وميانمار، حيث بلغت ذروتها بتوقيع الاتفاق الرئيسي بشأن ميناء كياوكفيو في أعماق البحار [في راخين] في كانون الثاني/يناير من عام 2020". وتلمح سون يون إلى أن أشياء كثيرة تصبح على المحك عندما تضغط العناصر الفاعلة بشدة لإضفاء الطابع الخارجي على تحقيق العدالة إزاء الانتهاكات التي وقعت في ولاية راخين في عام 2017، أمام محكمة العدل الدولية والمحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

وحتى الآن، تعتمد غامبيا في قضيتها المقامة أمام محكمة العدل الدولية وشكواها المقدمة إلى المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية، حسبما ورد في المذكرات العلنية، اعتماداً كاملاً على تقارير تقصي الحقائق في مجال حقوق الإنسان الصادرة عن الأمم المتحدة. ويشير الدكتور دوف جاكوبس في موجز السياسة الذي أعده إلى أن "ما يقرب من 500 حاشية (من أصل 775 حاشية)" من حواشي الطلب المقدم إلى المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية لفتح تحقيق "تشير إلى مختلف تقارير تقصي الحقائق أو تقارير المجتمع المدني. أمَّا فيما يخص قرار [الدائرة التمهيدية] [الذي يأذن بفتح تحقيق مستمر تضطلع به المحكمة الجنائية الدولية]، فما يقرب من نصف الحواشي يشير إلى تلك التقارير". ويناقش دواعي القلق المنهجية المختلفة وكذلك "كيف تؤدي إلى التصديق بالجُملة بسردية أحادية الجانب حول الأحداث المعقدة التي وقعت في ميانمار والتي تدعم الخطاب الذي تستخدمه تقارير تقصي الحقائق". وينتقد سفير المملكة المتحدة السابق ديِرِك تُونكْن بعثة الأمم المتحدة الدولية المستقلة لتقصي الحقائق في ميانمار لأسباب أخرى. 

وتتمثل إحدى معوقات جهود العدالة الدولية في أن بعثة تقصي الحقائق التابعة للأمم المتحدة والمقررة الخاصة المعنية بحالة حقوق الإنسان في ميانمار وكذلك تقارير المجتمع المدني تعتمد بشدة على تصريحات اللاجئين القادمين من راخين إلى المخيمات الكائنة في بنغلاديش. ويصف سوميتايا ريوتا بعض المشاكل السائدة في مخيمات اللاجئين تلك (بما في ذلك كيف يمنع اللاجئون رفاقهم المهاجرين من العودة إلى الوطن)، معتمداً على زياراته المتكررة إلى كلا المخيمين وإلى راخين الشمالية بصفته رئيس مكتب يانغون في مؤسسة أساهي شيمبون اليابانية. وفي أحد الفصول الجديدة في الإصدار الثاني من مقتطفات توركل أوبسال الأكاديمية للنشر الإلكتروني المعنونة مراقبة الجودة في تقصي الحقائق (البالغ عدد صفحاتها 650 صفحة؛ وحررها مورتن بيرغسمو وكراستن ستاهن)، يذكرنا جيوفري روبرتسون كيو سي بنظرة ثاقبة رئيسية مستقاة من مجال تقصي الحقائق في مجال حقوق الإنسان، كما ورد في المقدمة الجديدة التي كتبها البروفيسور مادز أندينسيز كيو سي: "يلاحظ جيوفري روبرتسون كيو سي بحكمته المعهودة أنه ينبغي إجراء المقابلات مع اللاجئين" قبل أن يخضعوا لتأثير قادة المخيمات المحليين الذين يلقنونهم بـ "الخط" العام المعتمد إزاء الأحداث السياسية التي وقعت في الوطن، ويدربونهم في حالات معينة على ما ينبغي أن يقولوه. وقد تكون تلك هي الحقيقة وقد لا تكون كذلك، ولكن لأنها مُصمَّمة، على سبيل المثال، لدعم الخط السياسي للفصيل، أو لدعم قضية لجوء بوصفها بديلاً عن الهجرة الاقتصادية، فيجب استبعاد تلك الروايات التي يحكيها الأفراد بعد تدريبهم." وهناك فصل جديد آخر في الإصدار الثاني هو "تقصي الحقائق على الفيسبوك: وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في أعمال هيئات تقصي الحقائق في مجال حقوق الإنسان" للدكتورة إيما إيرفينغ، الذي تستخدم ميانمار بوصفها واحدة من دراستي حالتين.   

وتتضمن الندوة المقدمة عبر الإنترنت أيضاً ورقة بقلم مورتن بيرغسمو تتناول كيف أن تعميق فهم المظالم المرتبطة بالأخطاء التي ارتكبت في بورما المستعمرة قبل الاستقلال في عام 1948 قد يؤثر إيجاباً على المشاركة مع العناصر الفاعلة في ميانمار، وورقة رد أعدها السفير ديِرِك تُونكْن تنظر في جوانب الممارسات البريطانية في راخين بين عامي 1826 و1948. في موجز السياسة رقم 101، يناقش الدكتور جاك ب. ليدر (الذي ربما يعتبر الخبير الأوروبي الرائد في تاريخ راخين) نزع ملكية الأراضي والاضطهاد في الفترة بين عامي 1942 و1943 في المناطق نفسها بالضبط في شمال راخين التي شهدت أعمال عنف مأساوية بين عامي 2016و2017. في موجز سياسة ثان (رقم 111)، يُحلل ويقارن الهجرة الجماعية للمسلمين من راخين الشمالية إلى بنغلاديش في عام 1942، وفي الفترة 1948-1949، وفي عام 1959، وفي الفترة 1976-1978، وفي الفترة 1991-1992. ويكتب قائلا إن: "هروب الضعفاء يُضعف من جبروت القوي" ؛ وإنه "كانت عمليات المغادرة الجماعية والتفاوض الجماعي على العودة المشروطة، رغم طبيعتها الدورية والشرسة، بمثابة نموذج هامشي للحماية الذاتية" (في إشارة إلى "النمط المعتاد لتدفقات المهاجرين"). وفي مواجهة التحديات الإثباتية، فقد تشعر العناصر الفاعلة في مجال العدالة الدولية بإغراءات تدفعها إلى شيطنة الباحثين في راخين، مما يؤدي في الواقع إلى خنق الخطاب السائد. وإدراكا لهذا الخطر، نشجع على إبداء الآراء بنزاهة في منشورات الندوة، بما في ذلك موجزات السياسة التي أعدها الدكتور ليدر (إضافةً إلى محاضرته في مؤتمر مركز بحوث ودراسات القانون الدولي "الأخطاء الاستعمارية والمعايير المزدوجة والاحتكام إلى القانون الدولي" التي عُقِدت في يانغون، 16-17 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019).  

وقد لا تضر مخاطر الشيطنة والانحياز بجهود العدالة الدولية فحسب، بل يمكن أن تغذي التغاضي عن العدالة داخليا كذلك، كما ورد في موجز السياسة الذي أعده القانوني -من هونغ كونغ - تشان إ. س. إيكاروس: وقد تُعرَّض الملخص التنفيذي للجنة المستقلة لتقصي الحقائق التي أنشأتها ميانمار و12 مرفقا بالتقرير (تضم أكثر من 230 صفحة من إجمالي 450 صفحة هو  عدد صفحات التقرير) للسخرية بسرعة في اليوم التالي لإصداره، على الرغم من عزوه المسؤولية إلى جيش ميانمار بدرجة كبيرة. ولكن هل تدل ردود الفعل تلك على الموضوعية وعدم التحيُّز والاهتمام بتغذية جهود العدالة المحلية"؟ وتصف سونغ تيانينغ (الباحثة في معهد الجامعة الأوروبية) الخطوات العديدة التي اتخذتها أنظمة العدالة العسكرية والمدنية وكذلك حكومة ميانمار خلال الأشهر الخمسة عشر الماضية، وتشير إلى أن: "صمت [مكتب المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية وتقاعسه) في مواجهة الخطوات الإيجابية العديدة التي اتخذتها ميانمار في غضون بضعة أشهر يمكن تفسيرهما تفسيراً سلبياً" ويمكن أن يخلقا تصوراً مفاده أن مكتب المدعي العام "لا يشجع الإجراءات الوطنية ويتنافس معها، أو لا يثق في العاملين في مجال العدالة الجنائية على الصعيد المحلي، وكلاهما مؤذٍ". وتكتب قائلة إن: "الوقت قد حان لكي تتخذ العناصر الفاعلة والجهات المانحة التكاملية بعض الخطوات الإيجابية. إذ إنها تشترك في تحمل المسؤولية عن تحقيق الفاعلية في المساءلة على الصعيد الداخلي". ويشير الحجم النسبي للتطورات الحادثة في جهود العدالة المحلية في ميانمار إلى وجود نشاط وتعاون على الأرض في ميانمار أكبر بكثير مما قد تكون المحكمة الجنائية الدولية مطلعة عليه. ويضع هذا "الجانب المظلم من الصورة'' مزيداً من التحديات أمام مسيرة عمل العناصر الفاعلة في مجال العدالة الدولية، لا سيما إذا زاد عدد الضباط والجنود الذين يحكم عليهم في ميانمار بسبب ارتكابهم جرائم في راخين في 2017 من 13 حالياً (مرجع تشان السابق) إلى أكثر من 20  في العام المقبل (معاقبةً لهم على السلوك ذي الصلة الذي ارتكبوه خلال أكثر الحوادث خطورة التي وقعت في الفترة من 12 إلى 13 والتي يبدو أن اللجنة المستقلة لتقصي الحقائق والتقارير الدولية تتفق عليها). 

ويذهب البروفيسور كارستن ستان، في موجز السياسة الذي أعده، إلى أنه حتى لو كانت المحكمة الجنائية الدولية "لها مصلحة في الاحتفاظ بالقضايا التي استثمرت فيها وقتا طويلا وبذلت فيها جهود تحقيق كبيرة"، فإن أهداف التكامل الأوسع نطاقا "تسعى إلى تحفيز الاختصاص القضائي الداخلي". ويدعو إلى إنشاء "هيكل سياسي للدول الأطراف للتشاور أو التنسيق جماعياً بشأن أبعاد التكامل المتصلة بالمنظومة برمتها، أو حشد الدعم لاستراتيجيات بناء القدرات أو تسهيل التواصل بين المحكمة والدول غير الأطراف". وبالنظر إلى ما هو أبعد من المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، يتسأل تشان قائلاً: "ألا ينبغي أن تتخلل الحساسية تجاه الجهود الداخلية، التي يعني التكامل بذلها في الواقع، المناقشات الدائرة حول الأخطاء الدولية المزعوم ارتكابها التي قد ترقى إلى مستوى الجرائم الدولية الأساسية، بغض النظر عن ساحة العدالة الدولية المعنية؟ ألا ينبغي للعلاقة المتبادلة بين العدالة الدولية [...] والتطورات المحلية ذات الصلة أن تفيد أصحاب المصلحة بطريقة تغرس ثقة فيهم لا تقبل الجدل في العدالة الدولية؟"

وفيما يلي المنشورات المدرجة في الندوة المقدمة عبر الإنترنت "حول ميانمار" (بالترتيب العكسي لسلسلة المنشورات التي تظهر فيها):

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our Books
An online symposium.

Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

CILRAP Circulation List TwitterTwitter

On Myanmar

This online symposium seeks to contribute to our understanding of the situation in Myanmar, in particular in Rakhine State. CILRAP organised the international expert seminar ‘Colonial Wrongs, Double Standards, and Access to International Law’ in Yangon on 16-17 November 2019. The conference programme, concept note, and links to films and podcasts of the conference presentations are freely available on the project web page. The project has been very well-received, but a few of the reactions to the concept paper made it clear that there may be a need for further, nuanced analysis of the situation in Myanmar.

Against this background, CILRAP is pleased to host an online symposium of publications on various aspects of the situation in Myanmar, by a diversity of authors, in particular from the region. These are all publications of CILRAP’s publisher, the Torkel Opsahl Academic EPublisher (TOAEP). The symposium will continue to grow during the coming months and years. We are particularly interested in perspectives or issues that may be underrepresented or overlooked in the prevailing international justice discourse on Myanmar, as it continues to evolve. The aim is to contribute towards a widening of the discourse, to enhance inclusivity, in the interests of justice, truth and also peace. The publications that have been included in the symposium to date are listed with links at the bottom of this page. The following paragraphs give an overview of the first 16 publications.

Describing the situation in Rakhine State in Myanmar at the time of the launch of the symposium in 2020, Professor NAKANISHI Yoshihiro, a Japanese expert on armed forces in Myanmar, explains that "the fighting in Rakhine since early 2019 has been between a Buddhist organised armed group [the Arakan Army] and the mainly-Buddhist Myanmar Defence Services, and that Muslims in Rakhine have not been a party to this fighting" as opposed to the well-known, catastrophic events in 2016-17. The Bangladeshi scholar Shafqat Munir discusses the potential that Rakhine holds for Bangladesh and for regional co-operation: "The future growth of both countries [Bangladesh and Myanmar] will not be determined by their ability to contest one another but by their ability to complement and co-operate with one another". Antonio Angotti cautions against the risk of foreign "instrumentalisation of the particular Bangladeshi notion and sense of genocide", which is characterised by an "unusually willing embrace of the genocide classification among Bangladeshi actors" born out of the 1971 Liberation War and the subsequent constitutional narrative.

Subir Bhaumik, Devasheesh Bais and SUN Yun provide Indian and Chinese perspectives on the geopolitical significance of Rakhine. It is difficult to understand the armed conflicts and tragic events in Rakhine the past five years without knowing the fundamental facts they discuss. Interestingly, the Chinese Myanmar-expert SUN Yun (Senior Fellow, Stimson Center) observes that "Western actors who have single-mindedly called for externalization of accountability for alleged crimes committed against Rohingyas in northern Rakhine have contributed significantly to the strengthening of ties between China and Myanmar, culminating with the signing of the key agreement on the Kyaukphyu deep-sea port [in Rakhine] in January 2020". She implies that there is much at stake when actors press hard to externalize justice for violations in Rakhine State in 2017, before the International Court of Justice (ICJ) and the International Criminal Court (ICC).

Both The Gambia in its ICJ case and the ICC Prosecutor in public submissions to date rely comprehensively on UN human rights fact-finding reports. In his policy brief, Dr. Dov Jacobs points out that "nearly 500 (out of 775) footnotes" in the ICC Prosecutor's request to open an investigation "refer to various fact-finding or civil society reports. For the [Pre-Trial Chamber] decision [authorising the opening of the ongoing ICC investigation], nearly half of the footnotes refer to such reports". He discusses various methodological concerns as well as "how it leads to the wholesale adoption of a one-sided narrative about the complex events that took place in Myanmar that underpins the rhetoric in fact-finding reports". Former UK Ambassador Derek Tonkin criticizes the UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Myanmar on further grounds.

One predicament for the international justice efforts is that the UN Fact-Finding Mission and Special Rapporteur on Myanmar as well as civil society reports rely so heavily on statements by refugees from Rakhine in camps in Bangladesh. SOMETAYA Ryuta describes some of the problems that prevail in these refugee camps (including how repatriation is systematically prevented by fellow-refugees), based on his frequent visits to both the camps and to northern Rakhine as the Yangon Bureau Chief of The Asahi Shimbun of Japan. In one of the new chapters in the Second Edition of the TOAEP anthology Quality Control in Fact-Finding (650 pages; edited by Morten Bergsmo and Carsten Stahn), Geoffrey Robertson QC reminds us of a key insight from the field of human rights fact-finding, as also cited in the new foreword by Professor Mads Andenæs QC: "Geoffrey Robertson QC observes wisely that refugees should be interviewed "before they come under the sway of local camp leaders who will indoctrinate them with the approved 'line' about political events back home, and will in certain cases coach them as to what to say. It may or may not be the truth, but because it is designed, for instance, to support the political line of the faction, or to support a case for asylum rather than economic migration, such coached stories must be discounted".". Another new chapter in the Second Edition is Dr. Emma Irving's 'Finding Facts on Facebook: Social Media in the Work of Human Rights Fact-Finding Bodies', which uses Myanmar as one of two case studies.

The online symposium also includes a paper by Morten Bergsmo on how a deeper understanding of grievances linked to wrongs committed in Colonial Burma prior to independence in 1948 may positively affect engagement with actors in Myanmar, and a response-paper by Ambassador Derek Tonkin that considers aspects of British practice in Rakhine between 1826 and 1948. In policy brief No. 101, Dr. Jacques P. Leider (perhaps Europe's leading expert on the history of Rakhine) discusses territorial dispossession and persecution in 1942-43 in exactly the same areas of northern Rakhine that saw the tragic violence of 2016-17. In a second policy brief (No. 111), he analyses and compares the mass-departures of Muslims from northern Rakhine into Bangladesh in 1942, 1948-49, 1959, 1976-78 and 1991-92. He writes that "the flight of the weak shames the might of the powerful"; and that, "[d]espite their cyclic and ferocious nature, mass departures and the negotiation of conditional returns have worked as a marginal model of self-protection" (referring to "the habitual mode of migrant flows"). Facing evidentiary challenges, international justice actors may feel tempted to demonize scholars on Rakhine, in effect stifling the discourse. Cognizant of this danger, dispassionate review of the symposium’s publications is encouraged, including Dr. Leider's policy briefs (as well as his lecture at CILRAP's conference 'Colonial Wrongs, Double Standards, and Access to International Law' in Yangon, 16-17 November 2019).

The risks of demonization and one-sidedness may not only harm international justice efforts, but can feed disregard for domestic justice, as pointed out in the policy brief of Hong Kong-lawyer CHAN H.S. Icarus: The Myanmar-established Independent Commission of Enquiry's ('ICOE') "executive summary and 12 annexes (which tally more than 230 of the report's overall 450 pages) were swiftly ridiculed the day after their release, notwithstanding its considerable attribution of responsibility to the Myanmar military. Are such patellar reflexes indicative of objectivity, lack of bias, and concern to nourish domestic justice efforts"? SONG Tianying (European University Institute Researcher) describes the many steps taken by the military and civilian justice systems as well as the government of Myanmar during the past 15 months, and observes that "silence and inaction of the OTP [the ICC Office of the Prosecutor] in the face of Myanmar's numerous positive steps within the span of a few months may be interpreted negatively" and create the perception that the OTP "discourages and competes with national proceedings, or has no trust in domestic criminal justice professionals, either of which would be harmful". She writes that it is "time for complementarity actors and donors to take some positive steps. They share responsibility for making domestic accountability work". The relative scale of developments in Myanmar's domestic justice efforts suggests that there has been much more activity and co-operation on the ground in Myanmar than the ICC may be privy to. This 'dark side of the moon' poses additional challenges for international justice actors, especially if the number of officers and soldiers sentenced in Myanmar for Rakhine 2017-crimes increases from the current 13 (CHAN op. cit.) to more than 20 within the next year (for relevant conduct during the 12-13 most serious incidents, on which the ICOE and international reports seem to agree).

In his policy brief, Professor Carsten Stahn argues that, even if the ICC "has an interest in retaining cases in which it has invested significant time and investigative efforts", the broader goals of complementarity "seek to stimulate domestic jurisdiction". He calls for the creation of a "political structure for States Parties to consult or co-ordinate collectively on the systemic dimensions of complementarity, galvanize support for capacity building strategies or facilitate communications between the Court and non-States Parties". Looking beyond the ICC, CHAN asks: "should not the sensitivity to domestic efforts, which complementarity actually implies, permeate discussions on alleged international wrongdoing that may amount to core international crimes, regardless of the international justice forum in question? Should not the inter-relationship between international justice [...] and relevant domestic developments inform stakeholders in a manner that instils incontrovertible trust in international justice?".

The following are the publications included in the online symposium ‘On Myanmar’ (in the reverse order of the publication series in which they appear):

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our Books
An online symposium.