Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Quality Control
An online symposium.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

Integrity in international justice
Symposium on integrity
in international justice.

  CILRAP Circulation List TwitterTwitter

关于缅甸的研讨会

本次线上研讨会意在促进对缅甸,尤其是若开邦的情况的了解。在此之前,国际法研究与政策中心 (CILRAP)于2019年11月16-17日在仰光举办了‘殖民过错、双重标准及国际法话语权’专家研讨会。该会议的日程、主题概要、视频及音频可以从会议网页上获得。该项目总的来说得到了良好的反馈,同时从一些对其主题的反应来看,很有必要对缅甸的情况进行更进一步的、全面的分析。

在此背景下,国际法研究与政策中心组织了本次线上研讨会。不同背景的作者,尤其是来自该地区的作者就缅甸情势的不同方面发表了自己的看法。他们的文章已由国际法研究与政策中心的出版社,即奥普萨尔学术电子出版社(TOAEP)发表。本研讨会将在未来数月甚至数年里持续进行。我们尤其对当前关于缅甸的国际司法对话中被忽视的或者没有被充分代表的视角和问题感兴趣。我们的目标是在促进正义、真相及和平的情况下拓展对话的维度、加强对话的包容性。目前为止已发表的研讨会文章及其链接已在文末列出。以下为发表的16篇文章的主旨。

缅甸武装部队及团体专家中西嘉宏教授在描述当前若开邦的情况时指出,和广为人知的2016至2017年间若开邦的一系列灾难性事件不同,“自2019年初若开邦军事冲突的双方是佛教武装团体(阿拉干军队)和以佛教徒为主的缅甸军队,若开的穆斯林团体并不是武装冲突的一方”。孟加拉国学者沙夫卡特•穆尼尔Shafqat Munir)指出若开的情势为孟加拉国及地区合作提供了契机:“两国(孟加拉国和缅甸)的未来发展不是取决于他们彼此对抗的能力,而是他们互补合作的能力”。安东尼奥•安格蒂Antonio Angotti)指出要谨慎对待外国“将孟加拉国特有的种族灭绝概念和感受工具化”的风险,因为1971年解放战争和其后的宪政经历使很多“孟加拉国人特别倾向于接受种族灭绝的定性”。

苏比拉·布哈吾米克德瓦希什•巴伊斯孙韵就若开的地缘政治或者说边境的重要性提供了中国和印度的视角。没有这些作者提供的实事基础,我们很难全面理解过去五年在若开发生的武装冲突及悲剧事件。有趣的是,中国的缅甸问题专家孙韵(史汀生中心高级研究员)指出“西方一味要求对据称在北若开对罗兴亚人犯下的罪行进行国际追责,极大地促进了中国和缅甸的关系,这在双方2020年1月就皎漂深水港签订关键协议时达到顶峰”。她暗示各方在国际法院和国际刑事法院极力推动针对2017年若开邦发生的暴力事件的国际司法程序涉及很多复杂的利害关系。

无论是冈比亚在国际法院的举证还是国际刑事法院检察官公开提交的文件都全面依赖联合国人权实事调查报告。道夫•雅克布斯Dov Jacobs)博士在其政策简报中指出,国际刑事法院检察官开展调查请求的“775个脚注中有将近500个引用了各种实事调查报告或者非政府组织的报告。在(预审庭授权开展调查的)决定中,有近一半的脚注引用了上述报告”。他从方法论上提出了一些质疑,并讨论了方法论上的问题“如何导致了对实事调查报告对缅甸发生的复杂事件一边倒的描述的全盘接受。”前英国大使德列克•汤金Derek Tonkin)从其他角度进一步批评了联合国独立事实调查团。

联合国缅甸事实调查团和特别报告员及非政府组织在其报告中严重依赖孟加拉国难民营里若开难民的陈述,这在国际司法程序中是一大问题。染田屋竜太描述了他作为日本朝日新闻仰光办公室主任多次访问难民营及若开北部时发现的难民营中的一些问题(包括一些难民系统性地阻止其他难民回缅甸)。在《事实调查中的质量控制》第二版(650页;莫藤•伯格斯默、卡斯滕•斯坦主编)新收录的一章中,杰弗里•罗伯茨森提醒我们注意人权事实调查领域的一个关键问题,这也被马茨•安德纳斯教授在书的新前言中引用:“杰弗里•罗伯茨森明智地指出采访难民应当在“他们被营地领导影响前,因为这些领导会对他们强行灌输对于国内政治事件的‘立场’,在一些情况下还训练难民准备一套说辞。无论这些事先准备的说辞是否属实,由于它们是为支持某政治斗争或者避难申请而设计的,故而不应被采信。””。第二版中收录的另一新文章是艾玛•厄文博士的脸书上的事实调查:社交媒体在事实调查机构工作中的作用。缅甸是该文章研究的两个案例之一。

本线上研讨会中,莫藤•伯格斯默的一篇文章指出深入了解1948年缅甸独立前遭受的殖民统治可能会对与缅甸相关人员的交流有积极影响。德列克•汤金大使在对此回应文章中讨论了1826至1948年间英国在若开殖民统治期间的一些做法。雅克•P•莱德博士(他或许可以说是欧洲首屈一指的若开历史专家)在第101号政策简报中讨论了2016至2017年暴行发生的北若开地区在1942至1943年经历的土地掠夺和迫害。在第二篇政策简报(第111号)中,他分析比较了1942、1948-49、 1959、 1976-78 及 1991-92年间穆斯林人口从北若开到孟加拉国的大规模迁徙。他写道:“弱者的逃离是强者权威之耻”;“这些暴烈且循环往复的大规模迁移和关于有条件返回的谈判可以视为一种微弱的自我保护模式”。在面对证据不足的挑战时,一些国际司法工作者可能倾向于将研究若开的学者妖魔化,进而压制整个对话。我们鼓励读者冷静研读包括雅克•P•莱德博士的政策简报(还有他在‘殖民过错、双重标准及国际法话语权’专家研讨会上的发言)在内的研讨会文章。

妖魔化和一边倒的态度不仅可能会危害国际司法进程,还会造成对国内程序的轻视。正如香港律师陈浩诚在其政策简报中所说:由缅甸设立的独立事实调查团(ICOE)的“执行摘要及其12个附件(总计230多页,报告总长450页)在很大程度上认定了缅甸军方的责任,却在发布的第二天就迅速被嘲笑奚落。如此条件反射般的反应是对国内司法努力客观公正的态度吗?” 宋天英(欧洲大学研究院)描述了过去15个月缅甸军事、民事司法系统及政府采取的一系列措施,并指出“国际刑事法院检察官办公室面对缅甸在短短数月内采取多项积极行动的沉默和不作为可能会被消极地解读”,给人留下检察官办公室“不鼓励国内的司法程序并与之竞争,或者不信任国内刑事司法从业人员的”不好印象。她指出“补充性管辖的行动者和捐赠人是时候采取一些积极措施了,他们同样有责任使国内追责体系正常运转。”缅甸国内司法活动的规模显示当地还有许多活动和合作是国际刑事法院不知道的。‘月球的暗面’给国际司法行动者带来额外的挑战,尤其是缅甸国内因2017年在若开的犯罪被判刑的士官可能会由目前的13人(见陈浩诚文)增加到20人以上的情况下(鉴于12-13个最严重的事件所涉行为)。

卡斯滕•斯坦在其政策简报中指出,即使国际刑事法院“希望保留其投入了大量时间和调查资源的案件”,补充性管辖的大目标还是“争取激励国内管辖”。他呼吁设立一个“可以让成员国集体讨论或者协调补充性管辖的系统性问题的政治机制,刺激支持能力建设的策略或者协助法院与非缔约国的沟通”。陈浩诚还提出了超越国际刑事法院机制的问题:“无论在什么国际司法机构,在讨论可能构成核心国际犯罪的行为时,难道不应该对国内司法程序保持敏感吗?国际司法和国内司法的交流难道不应该以一种增强对国际司法信任的方式展开吗?”。

以下是本研讨会的文章(按照发表时间顺序):

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our Books
An online symposium.

Our authors

Our Books
More than 500 authors
from all continents.

Historical Origins of International Criminal Law
Historical Origins of
International Criminal Law

Our Books
Philosophical Foundations of
International Criminal Law

Policy Brief Series

Our Books
Concise policy briefs on policy challenges in international law.

Our Books
Research on quality
control in fact-work.

Our Chinese and Indian authors

Our Books
TOAEP has published dozens of Chinese and Indian authors.

Our Books
Art and the ‘politics
of reconciliation’.

CILRAP Circulation List TwitterTwitter

On Myanmar

This online symposium seeks to contribute to our understanding of the situation in Myanmar, in particular in Rakhine State. CILRAP organised the international expert seminar ‘Colonial Wrongs, Double Standards, and Access to International Law’ in Yangon on 16-17 November 2019. The conference programme, concept note, and links to films and podcasts of the conference presentations are freely available on the project web page. The project has been very well-received, but a few of the reactions to the concept paper made it clear that there may be a need for further, nuanced analysis of the situation in Myanmar.

Against this background, CILRAP is pleased to host an online symposium of publications on various aspects of the situation in Myanmar, by a diversity of authors, in particular from the region. These are all publications of CILRAP’s publisher, the Torkel Opsahl Academic EPublisher (TOAEP). The symposium will continue to grow during the coming months and years. We are particularly interested in perspectives or issues that may be underrepresented or overlooked in the prevailing international justice discourse on Myanmar, as it continues to evolve. The aim is to contribute towards a widening of the discourse, to enhance inclusivity, in the interests of justice, truth and also peace. The publications that have been included in the symposium to date are listed with links at the bottom of this page. The following paragraphs give an overview of the first 16 publications.

Describing the situation in Rakhine State in Myanmar at the time of the launch of the symposium in 2020, Professor NAKANISHI Yoshihiro, a Japanese expert on armed forces in Myanmar, explains that "the fighting in Rakhine since early 2019 has been between a Buddhist organised armed group [the Arakan Army] and the mainly-Buddhist Myanmar Defence Services, and that Muslims in Rakhine have not been a party to this fighting" as opposed to the well-known, catastrophic events in 2016-17. The Bangladeshi scholar Shafqat Munir discusses the potential that Rakhine holds for Bangladesh and for regional co-operation: "The future growth of both countries [Bangladesh and Myanmar] will not be determined by their ability to contest one another but by their ability to complement and co-operate with one another". Antonio Angotti cautions against the risk of foreign "instrumentalisation of the particular Bangladeshi notion and sense of genocide", which is characterised by an "unusually willing embrace of the genocide classification among Bangladeshi actors" born out of the 1971 Liberation War and the subsequent constitutional narrative.

Subir Bhaumik, Devasheesh Bais and SUN Yun provide Indian and Chinese perspectives on the geopolitical significance of Rakhine. It is difficult to understand the armed conflicts and tragic events in Rakhine the past five years without knowing the fundamental facts they discuss. Interestingly, the Chinese Myanmar-expert SUN Yun (Senior Fellow, Stimson Center) observes that "Western actors who have single-mindedly called for externalization of accountability for alleged crimes committed against Rohingyas in northern Rakhine have contributed significantly to the strengthening of ties between China and Myanmar, culminating with the signing of the key agreement on the Kyaukphyu deep-sea port [in Rakhine] in January 2020". She implies that there is much at stake when actors press hard to externalize justice for violations in Rakhine State in 2017, before the International Court of Justice (ICJ) and the International Criminal Court (ICC).

Both The Gambia in its ICJ case and the ICC Prosecutor in public submissions to date rely comprehensively on UN human rights fact-finding reports. In his policy brief, Dr. Dov Jacobs points out that "nearly 500 (out of 775) footnotes" in the ICC Prosecutor's request to open an investigation "refer to various fact-finding or civil society reports. For the [Pre-Trial Chamber] decision [authorising the opening of the ongoing ICC investigation], nearly half of the footnotes refer to such reports". He discusses various methodological concerns as well as "how it leads to the wholesale adoption of a one-sided narrative about the complex events that took place in Myanmar that underpins the rhetoric in fact-finding reports". Former UK Ambassador Derek Tonkin criticizes the UN Independent International Fact-Finding Mission on Myanmar on further grounds.

One predicament for the international justice efforts is that the UN Fact-Finding Mission and Special Rapporteur on Myanmar as well as civil society reports rely so heavily on statements by refugees from Rakhine in camps in Bangladesh. SOMETAYA Ryuta describes some of the problems that prevail in these refugee camps (including how repatriation is systematically prevented by fellow-refugees), based on his frequent visits to both the camps and to northern Rakhine as the Yangon Bureau Chief of The Asahi Shimbun of Japan. In one of the new chapters in the Second Edition of the TOAEP anthology Quality Control in Fact-Finding (650 pages; edited by Morten Bergsmo and Carsten Stahn), Geoffrey Robertson QC reminds us of a key insight from the field of human rights fact-finding, as also cited in the new foreword by Professor Mads Andenæs QC: "Geoffrey Robertson QC observes wisely that refugees should be interviewed "before they come under the sway of local camp leaders who will indoctrinate them with the approved 'line' about political events back home, and will in certain cases coach them as to what to say. It may or may not be the truth, but because it is designed, for instance, to support the political line of the faction, or to support a case for asylum rather than economic migration, such coached stories must be discounted".". Another new chapter in the Second Edition is Dr. Emma Irving's 'Finding Facts on Facebook: Social Media in the Work of Human Rights Fact-Finding Bodies', which uses Myanmar as one of two case studies.

The online symposium also includes a paper by Morten Bergsmo on how a deeper understanding of grievances linked to wrongs committed in Colonial Burma prior to independence in 1948 may positively affect engagement with actors in Myanmar, and a response-paper by Ambassador Derek Tonkin that considers aspects of British practice in Rakhine between 1826 and 1948. In policy brief No. 101, Dr. Jacques P. Leider (perhaps Europe's leading expert on the history of Rakhine) discusses territorial dispossession and persecution in 1942-43 in exactly the same areas of northern Rakhine that saw the tragic violence of 2016-17. In a second policy brief (No. 111), he analyses and compares the mass-departures of Muslims from northern Rakhine into Bangladesh in 1942, 1948-49, 1959, 1976-78 and 1991-92. He writes that "the flight of the weak shames the might of the powerful"; and that, "[d]espite their cyclic and ferocious nature, mass departures and the negotiation of conditional returns have worked as a marginal model of self-protection" (referring to "the habitual mode of migrant flows"). Facing evidentiary challenges, international justice actors may feel tempted to demonize scholars on Rakhine, in effect stifling the discourse. Cognizant of this danger, dispassionate review of the symposium’s publications is encouraged, including Dr. Leider's policy briefs (as well as his lecture at CILRAP's conference 'Colonial Wrongs, Double Standards, and Access to International Law' in Yangon, 16-17 November 2019).

The risks of demonization and one-sidedness may not only harm international justice efforts, but can feed disregard for domestic justice, as pointed out in the policy brief of Hong Kong-lawyer CHAN H.S. Icarus: The Myanmar-established Independent Commission of Enquiry's ('ICOE') "executive summary and 12 annexes (which tally more than 230 of the report's overall 450 pages) were swiftly ridiculed the day after their release, notwithstanding its considerable attribution of responsibility to the Myanmar military. Are such patellar reflexes indicative of objectivity, lack of bias, and concern to nourish domestic justice efforts"? SONG Tianying (European University Institute Researcher) describes the many steps taken by the military and civilian justice systems as well as the government of Myanmar during the past 15 months, and observes that "silence and inaction of the OTP [the ICC Office of the Prosecutor] in the face of Myanmar's numerous positive steps within the span of a few months may be interpreted negatively" and create the perception that the OTP "discourages and competes with national proceedings, or has no trust in domestic criminal justice professionals, either of which would be harmful". She writes that it is "time for complementarity actors and donors to take some positive steps. They share responsibility for making domestic accountability work". The relative scale of developments in Myanmar's domestic justice efforts suggests that there has been much more activity and co-operation on the ground in Myanmar than the ICC may be privy to. This 'dark side of the moon' poses additional challenges for international justice actors, especially if the number of officers and soldiers sentenced in Myanmar for Rakhine 2017-crimes increases from the current 13 (CHAN op. cit.) to more than 20 within the next year (for relevant conduct during the 12-13 most serious incidents, on which the ICOE and international reports seem to agree).

In his policy brief, Professor Carsten Stahn argues that, even if the ICC "has an interest in retaining cases in which it has invested significant time and investigative efforts", the broader goals of complementarity "seek to stimulate domestic jurisdiction". He calls for the creation of a "political structure for States Parties to consult or co-ordinate collectively on the systemic dimensions of complementarity, galvanize support for capacity building strategies or facilitate communications between the Court and non-States Parties". Looking beyond the ICC, CHAN asks: "should not the sensitivity to domestic efforts, which complementarity actually implies, permeate discussions on alleged international wrongdoing that may amount to core international crimes, regardless of the international justice forum in question? Should not the inter-relationship between international justice [...] and relevant domestic developments inform stakeholders in a manner that instils incontrovertible trust in international justice?".

The following are the publications included in the online symposium ‘On Myanmar’ (in the reverse order of the publication series in which they appear):

Lexsitus

Lexsitus logo

CILRAP Film

CMN Knowledge Hub

CMN Knowledge Hub
Online services to help
your work and research.

CILRAP Conversations

Our Books
CILRAP Conversations
on World Order

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

M.C. Bassiouni Justice Award

CILRAP Podcast

CILRAP Podcast

Our Books
An online symposium.